Tuesday, December 13, 2011

The Christmas Singing

Please go check out Cindy Woodsmall's Amish fiction book The Christmas Singing

You can also get 30% off and free shipping on The Christmas Singing (and any other title) when you use the promo code CHRISTMAS11 at checkout on WaterBrookMultnomah.com. The coupon code expires on December 20th, 2011. This is one of my favorite Christian publishing companies!!

Sunday, December 11, 2011

I love my new Meijer Photo Canvas!!

It just so happens that we had family pictures taken the end of October by Joel Cookston. It just so happens that the photos rocked! It just so happens that my kids look like rock stars. And it just so happens, I got a free 11x14 photo canvas from Meijer courtesy of BZZAGENT. Having this photo canvas made couldn't be easier. I just took the photo CD from our photo shoot to my local Meijer, sat down at the self-service computer, and in a matter of 5 minutes my order was placed. It took one day for my order to arrive at the store. I picked it up and fell in love! My kids look so good! Now to decided where to hand this beauty. I may just have to order a whole wall of photo canvas pictures!

*I am a member of BZZAGENT and was provided a coupon to get a free photo canvas at Meijer from them*

Thursday, December 8, 2011

You Can Win!!

Starting on November 29th until December 24th at the New Living Translation Facebook page we're giving away lots of great prizes and something free for you just for singing up.

By visiting the giveaway entry page (located on the NLT Facebook page, the link is under the profile picture) and entering your name and e-mail address you'll be entered to win the following prizes:

  • One random person each day will win a Life Application Study Bible Family Pack (Guys Life Application Study Bible hc, Girls Life Application Study Bible hc, Student's Life Application Study Bible hc, Life Application Study Bible hc, Life Application Study Bible Large Print hc).
  • One Random person each week will win an Apple iPad 2!

Everyone that signs up gets a free download copy of the Life Application Bible Study Book of Luke!

Check it out and maybe win!!

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Andy Stanley

Andy Stanley hits another home run! I am an emotional girl, and I am willing to admit it. A lot of times I can be led by my emotions (which is not my desire). I thrive to be led by the Holy Spirit, which most days is difficult for this momma. He deals with four emotions: Guilt, Anger, Greed, and Jealousy.

Personally my two favorite chapters are the Anger and Jealousy ones. Probably because these are my two biggest struggles on a daily basis. My desire is to break free from these emotions, just like the title. I have learned that these struggles have to be faced head-on on a daily (sometimes hourly, sometimes minute by minute) basis. I am thankful for this book and hope to become a better wife, mom, and leader after having read it!

Monday, November 7, 2011

Thankful! Review! And a Giveaway!

I have lots of friends doing the 24 days of thankful on Facebook. I was a day late (and a dollar short), and never jumped on the being thankful Facebook band wagon. I try my hardest to be thankful every day. If you've never read this book, I highly recommend it. The way you look at being thankful will be forever changed. I was blessed to receive the God's goodness wooden pedestal for this review. One of the many things I am thankful for is that my 3 boys all took adorable school pictures this year. Seriously, I loved each picture and was thankful not to have to deal with the hassle of retakes this year!
I decided to display my pedestal on the table by my front door. I think it looks great with these pumpkins and leaves from the Walmart. I also have visions of pine cones, bright Christmas ornaments, and many other beautiful displays.
Here is the display from the DaySpring website which you must look at. They have beautiful table decor for the Thanksgiving holiday. Any hostess would love to receive a gift from this collection. The pedestal is very eye-catching and everyone that passes by it asks about it.
Would you like to receive $20 to spend at the DaySpring website? (does not include shipping costs) If so leave a comment telling me you 1 thing you are thankful for. This contest will close November 16th at midnight. Make sure I have a way to contact you. Thankful for you!

*I received this free product from DaySpring in exchange for my review. The opinions are mine.*

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Torani Syrups...YUMMY!!

For years, Torani has been your coffeehouse's secret ingredient. Now, you can have real coffeehouse flavor at home in your own kitchen! Torani is the #1 brand of flavored syrups in America. Their syrups are made with the highest-quality ingredients!

Have you ever walked into a coffee shop and noticed the beautiful bottles of flavored syrups lined up just waiting to be added to your drink? Have you ever noticed how many different flavors there are? And have you ever wanted to sample each and every one (kind of like an ice cream sample taste with the teeny-tiny spoon)? Well, if you've answered yes to any of the above questions, do I have a treat for you!! I am part of a wonderful group called SheSpeaks, and they sent me 2 flavors of Torani syrup to try out at home. They also sent me coupons to give away. So I am giving away a coupon good for one free bottle of syrup (you get to pick the flavor) to 2 lucky commenters!!
Wouldn't this be oh so good for your holiday coffee? Especially after a long day of shopping in the crowded mall. Prop your feet up, make a cup of coffee, add some milk and a splash of EggNog syrup and enjoy!!
To enter this contest, please visit Torani's website and tell me what flavor of syrup you would pick if you win! Easy Peasy! Contest ends November 16th at midnight and I am only able to ship to US commenters. I will contact winners by email. Thanks and enjoy dreaming about yummy flavored coffees!!

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Fair Trade Coffee

I am definitely a coffee kind of girl. I love love love my Keurig. And I love love love Green Mountain coffee K-cups!

Through October 31, 2011, Green Mountain Coffe is offering you the chance to save $2 on all Fair Trade Certified Coffees. This offer is good on their K-cup varieties and their bagged coffee. Green Mountain offers the nation's largest selection of Fair Trade Certified coffees.

Here are some of the advantages to buying Fair Trade Certified coffee:
*helping support farming communities
*protecting the environment
*enable sustainable growing practices that result in better coffee
*better working conditions for coffee harvesters
*farmers are paid a fair price for their harvest

WOW! I thought I was just drinking coffee! My all time favorite flavor at Green Mountain is their Pumpkin Spice K-cup variety. This is a limited edition flavor, so if you don't want to miss out, I suggest you order it now!

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Another Great Christmas Book!!

One thing I look forward to every Christmas season is the newest Donna VanLiere book. This lady knows how to write a story. Her books are easy to read and always have a few twists in the plot. Just when you think you know how the book is going to end, she throws in a surprise. You can check out her website here.

Can two very different women embark on a journey that explores a long-buried need for forgiveness, hope, and redemption?

That question gets answered as the lives of these two woman unfold and intertwine. This book explores how just a little attention can make a huge difference in someone's life. One of the main characters describes herself like this:

~"I've always felt there are two women inside me: one who is desperate, drowning, and clinging to anything that can float and the other woman who feels the depth of loss and the hope of beauty and is always searching for the marvelous to spring up out of the gray. That woman rarely shows up, it seems."

It is this character who ends up full of hope and forgiveness. What a powerful lesson this book teaches us, not just for Christmas, but for everyday life!

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

My 10 year old and I read this!

So I decided to read this book with my 10 year old son in the evening right before bed. Some nights we could not stop reading. It is a very exciting and suspenseful book, and my son and I both enjoyed reading it. I love that there are graphic novels with a purpose. My son loves to read the Yu-Gi-Oh graphic novels, so I feel a little better when he has something like this to read.

This book (which is the 3rd in the series) follows Sadie and Saskia Dopple and their friend Erik Morrisey Ganger on another fun-filled adventure. You can check out all of the DoppleGanger series here. I absolutely love the books ending. It includes new beginnings and a look at the past. It is definitely worth reading with your kids. Here is a glimpse at the closing conversation.

"Do you think they listen to what we say?"

"And when they get it wrong, do we try again?"

"But doesn't it make you angry?"
"If you had ever been one of them, you would understand."

"Look what they did to you."

Friday, September 30, 2011

The Love & Respect Experience

I have been a big fan of "Love & Respect" for years! I have read the book several times and often recommend it to friends who are struggling with their marriages. So I was so excited to get this new couple's devotional book. This is an area I have been striving to work on in my own marriage. I know it is not easy to get most men to read a book, but this book is totally worth it. I love that there are 52 devotionals, one for each week in a year's time. So you are not expected to be perfect and read every night together (which would never happen in my home!). One night a week is something I and my husband can do. Marriage is definitely something worth fighting for, and this book will help equip couples to fight!

This is a beautiful leather bound book; it would make a great gift!

*I received this book in exchange for my review from BookSneeze. The opinions are mine.*

Saturday, September 10, 2011

One Call Away

You only see a person’s front porch! You don’t see the living room, bathroom, or bedroom. If you saw the whole house, you probably wouldn’t want it! How often have I looked at another person’s life and wished I could have it. I think they are so much prettier, or smarter, or well-off financially, or their kids are better behaved, or they have never have to worry about their weight.

As an outsider looking in, you would think Brenda Warner has it all together. She has an amazing husband, kids, house, and life. And while it may look like that to the average person, after reading this book, I quickly realized she is just like you. And me. She has had struggles, insecurities, doubts, and things thrown in her face just like me. She has had to work hard to get where she is today just like me. She has had to rely on God when nothing seems to be working out just like me. Only she has had to do all this under the scrutiny of the public eye because her husband, Kurt Warner, is pretty much a national football icon. Brenda is honest and open about some of her choices she made in the past and regrets she still has to this day. One thing I did learn is that relationships are hard to maintain (especially after your family becomes famous), but should be a priority! We are not made to do life a lone, and having key people in your life to rely on is so important.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

New Book!

Tyndale Publishers has a contest to promote Dr. Kevin Leman's new book! You can go here to check out the details. They are giving away this book and other great prizes. Good luck!

Sunday, August 21, 2011

The Blessing (not National Lampoon's Christmas style)

This post is long overdue. Let's just say it's been a very busy summer around these parts. The boys finally started school last week, then my 99 year old grandmother died on Wednesday. So the business continues. Nonetheless, here is my review of this awesome book!

As a mother to a college student, a middle schooler, and two elementary kids, I totally appreciate this book. We have had quit the summer. My six year old fractured his femur almost five weeks ago and that has thrown a wrench in lots of our plans. We have spent lots of time at home doing absolutely nothing. All this extra time has let me practice what I read in this book. I grew up in a fundamental Christian home and feel like my parents practiced these principles without even knowing about it. There is no better gift to give a child than knowing they have their parents unconditional love and approval. Now that I have learned the basics principles talked about in The Blessing, I hope to give my children a hope for the future. There are so many negatives forces against them in the world, our relationship needs to be a priority! This book also gives specific ways to communicate to children these ideas.

The following are the key areas addressed in The Blessing: *Meaningful touch*A spoken message*Attaching high value*Picturing a special future*An active commitment*

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for my review. The opinions are mine.

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Never The Bride

A friend of my husbands stopped by last night. I was in the front yard reading this book. He asked why I was reading this because I have been the bride. It's hard to explain my addiction to reading to people who don't read. (They just don't understand) I was so happy to read this book and love the twist at the end (don't worry, no spoilers here).

The main character longs for true love and marriage and she will do just about anything to find it. While some of her choices may seem a bit extreme, she has total faith in the love story God is trying to write with her and for her. Here is a bit of the conversation the character is having at the beginning of the story:

"I can write this story for you, if you're willing to give me the pen."

"Everything I've accomplished in my like, I've done myself. Me. Alone. Why should I trust you now?"

"You haven't asked me for help. Of course, you can keep doing things your way. If that's working for you."

Sound familiar? If you tend to be a control freak (like me and the character in this book), you've probably had a very similar conversation with God before. It's hard to relinquish control and trust that God is writing our story and does a much better job of it, if we just get out of the way! After reading this book, I have a great picture of this and hopefully will keep getting out of the way in the future!

Monday, June 20, 2011

When Sparrows Fall

I am so happy to be reviewing Meg Moseley's debut novel! How exciting for her to be a newly published author. Here's what I found out about this gal:

*She has homeschooled for more than 20 years!
*She enjoys reading and traveling.
*She likes to take motorcycle rides with her husband.

So we have two of the three in common. I have never homeschooled a day in my life. If you met my 3 boys, you would know why. I am definitely not teacher material!

This novel is a story about a widow and her children who are trying to escape from the grips of a very controlling church. After her husband's death the main character, Miranda, decides it is time to make a clean break from the church she attended with her husband. She must also come to grips with a secret she and her husband had been keeping for years. The hero of the story is her former husband's half brother who comes in to rescue Miranda and her children. As the story unfolds, Miranda must embrace her past, the truth, and the grace of God which is sometimes difficult to do, even in the best of circumstances. This story of healing and love will become an example to many!

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

The Waiting Place

This is the first book I have read by Eileen Button. After reading this, I want to hang out with this gal. I love her style of writing. I love her honesty. I love how it feels like she's speaking to me. I love her heart for God. I love her faith. and her trust. and her vulnerability. I could go on and on, seriously.

This book has 22 chapters. My plan was to read one a day. But after the first three days, I had to read more! So I think it took me 5 days to finish the entire book. After finishing her book, I had to check out her website (of course!).

Here's what the website says about Eileen:

Eileen Button is an author, columnist, runner (well, sometimes), adjunct professor, mama, and committed java junkie. She believes in the goodness of God, the power of laughter, the inspiration of words, and the beauty of life.

Her essays have been published in Newsweek, Christianity Today's Gifted for Leadership, Holy Bible: Mosaic, and other online and print publications.

Eileen takes delight in stumbling on the miraculous in ordinary spaces - the repose of a child, the miracle of a garden, the face of a stranger. Through writing and speaking she encourages others to truly live and make room for the sacred.
This book is an everyday reminder that God has a plan and sometimes while we wait for His plan to unfold, it is hard. We want instant gratification. We want life to be easy and to go our way. We feel entitled to the good life. But that is not the case! In this world we will have troubles, trials, sadness, pain, and hard times. Sometimes all we can do (in the words of Eileen) is "hunker down, pray harder, and listen more keenly......and hold tightly to the belief that something good is yet to come". We know God is always good and we are always loved. And that is enough!

*I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my review. The views are solely mine*

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Amazing Grace

I grew up in a Baptist church and have very fond memories of singing many hymns on this CD. I also took a trip overseas in middle school and have seen bagpipes being played. The combination of these two things equals my love for this music. If you enjoy Celtic music, this album is for you. Their are several classic hymns plus a mix of new songs that are beautiful. There are two versions of the title track, Amazing Grace, that are both enjoyable and relazing to listen to. After listening to this, you will definitely want to learn how to play the bagpipes!

This CD does not disappoint the listener!!

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

(in)courage (in)spired deals review & giveaway!!!

*GIVEAWAY CLOSED* ACMOMMY3 is the winner. I will email you the details! Thanks!

Have you ever had a week, month, or year where the same thing keeps coming into your life? You hear a sermon, someone gives you a book they love, your friend asks you a question, your kids are struggling in this area, even the people in line at McDonalds are talking about this! And finally you realize God is trying to get your attention. He is trying to get you to slow down and listen to what He has to say. He wants you to learn a lesson before something really bad or crazy happens.

Well, this month for me it's all about PRAYER. Our MOPS year ended and we are doing a study on prayer, I just finished reading an amazing book about talking to God. My friends are going through some really hard times. Prayer. Prayer. Prayer. God is refining me and bringing me to him and reminding me sometimes there is nothing to do, but pray! When I got to pick an item to review through the (in)courage website through Dayspring, I knew immediately what to pick! A reminder every time I walk by this artwork to pray! They have monthly deals so be sure to bookmark their page and check it often (like I do)!

Because Dayspring wants to spread the word about their products, they are offering a $20 code for an online purchase to one person who comments on this post. To enter, please go to the Dayspring website, pick what you would purchase, then leave that in the comment. Comments close June 1 and then a winner will be announced.
*I was given a free product by Dayspring for doing this review/giveaway. The opinions are mine*

Wednesday, May 18, 2011


Let us rejoice and be glad today. Psalm 118:24

If you are looking for some good worship music, you are looking in the right place. This CD is top notch. The women's vocals are amazing. The songs are inspiring. I love the mix of familiar songs and new songs. I have only attended one Women of Faith conference (several years....maybe even a decade...ago), and I don't really remember the music all that much. But after listening to this CD, I definitely want to attend an event and be able to listen to these women live! The music alone would be worth the cost of an admission ticket!

My favorite song on the CD is the classic "Great Is Thy Faithfulness". This is a song I have loved for many years and could listen to it over and over. Which I did today when I was waiting in car line for the kids! This CD will not disappoint you!

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Love Food & Live Well by Chantel Hobbs

This is the first of Chantel Hobbs' books that I have read. I was very excited to read all about her journey to a new healthy lifestyle. Getting healthy, eating healthier, and starting an exercise regime has been on my to-do list for a long time now. I have 3 grade school kids, and I feel like now I can finally start to focus on myself now that my kids don't need constant attention! I have been looking into ways to eat less and moving more (I know it sounds like such a simple concept, but actually putting it into practice is a totally different story!), and also making what I eat (each and every bite) count.

Chantel shares some of her darkest moments she had when she was overweight and how God opened up here eyes and she became aware of just how unhealthy her lifestyle was. She did a complete turn around and is now dedicated to sharing her story by writing books and speaking to people. I love how she describes her walking partner..."He doesn't complain, we talk about what's going on in my life, He gives me awesome encouragement, I could walk with Him forever, when I'm done, I feel like a new creation". The partner she is talking about is God, the greatest Partner and Companion of all time. He wants to start this journey to health with you and be there to see it come to completion. What an awesome concept to grasp. God created each of us and cares about us more than anyone. He never disappoints, He never fails, He always loves!

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

the elemental journal

I was so excited when I got this book. I had grand ideas of making end-of-the year teacher gifts, mother's day gifts, and gifts for my family and friends. But after looking through the book and seeing what kinds of ideas were given, I quickly decided this kind of art is not for me. While the creations in the book are indeed very eye appealing, it is stuff I will never make nor would want to give away. Many items used for these arts and crafts are things that are a bit foreign to me. There is a beautiful nature element in many of the ideas, which for a true artist would be very excited. This would also be a great book for art teachers or professors looking for student ideas.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

iShine Bible

First of all, what is a tween? I have seen this word used in the media, at our library, and in advertising. I found the following definition online: "A child between middle childhood and adolesence, usually between 8 and 12 years old". It is a combination of the two words teen and between. So by this definition, I am the parent of a tween. So I was very excited to receive a copy of this New Living Translation iShine Bible to review.

Here's what I love about this Bible:

*The compact size. It could easily fit in my son's cargo pants pocket!
*The new translation. Our teaching minister just switched to this translation, so now my son has his own copy.
*There are 3 sections for deeper study which include VALUE, IDENTITY, & PURPOSE (making the reader a VIP in God's eyes)

Here's what my ten year old liked about the Bible:

*Cool graphics & pictures
*A Bible just for tweens like me!
*"I can't wait to take this to my Sunday School class!"

I though I would include my son's favorite verse in the new translation. "For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish, but have eternal life." John 3:16 NLT

Monday, April 18, 2011

Max On Life

Lots of people have questions. I live with a ten year and two (almost) six year olds. They ask me lots of questions! My friends at work all have questions. My neighbors have lots of questions. People have questions and are desperately looking for answers.

Max Lucado has been in ministry for many years and has over 100 million products in print! He has received thousands of questions from people all over the world. This book is kind of like a "what would Max do?" when faced with a question, doubt, situation, or even a certain life event. I've often wondered if I am responding the right way to something, and this book is a good place to find the answer.

Max answers 172 questions in his new book. Each answer feels like a personal conversation with the author. Each answer is based on scripture when applicable. Each answer is simple and straight forward. No beating around the bush for Max!! There is also a topical index at the back of the book to easily find the answer you are searching for. Whether you've been a Christian for 2 days, 2 years, or 2 decades, this book will be of great value to you! You will not be disappointed.

Max is also scheduled to speak at the 2011 MOPS convention. How exciting!! These MOPS mommas will be blessed to hear this great man speak!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Imagination Station Review

I chose to review this book because I knew my nine year old son would enjoy reading this. We decided to read it together. It is a great adventure story with a little bit of history tucked in. My son, who has a pretty good imagination, enjoyed this story. The story is pretty gender neutral so I think both boys and girls would enjoy this book alike!

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Life, In Spite of Me

I am so excited to share a review of this book. After reading this, you will be inspired. I love the author's brutal honesty about life and choices. Kristen is amazing young woman and an inspiration to many. She has included a letter to anyone contemplating suicide in each chapter of the book. I have worked with teens in our church youth group for years and would recommend this book to be required reading for anyone working with teens. Suicide is often swept under the rug in teen circles today, and this book helps bring to light the struggles and depression that many teens face and have no idea how to start dealing with their issues.

Writing a book like this takes strength and courage, and I am thankful Kristen has been courageous enough to share her story with the world! You will be blessed and inspired (just like I was) after finishing this book.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Tyndale Giveaway!!

Go here for a chance to win a great book! I've read both of these and highly recommend them!!


This story is all about how Rick & Bubba became big name radio personalities. They are just two country boys from Calhoun County, Alabama who happen to be in the right places at the right times. It tells all about the journey and the risks they (and those around them) took. It is an inspiring story for those trying to find their place in the big bad world called LIFE. A great (almost...haha) true story that will help the average Joe!

Friday, March 11, 2011

Mine Is The Night

I met Liz Curtis Higgs many years ago at a book signing (I had never heard of her, nor read any of her books!). Now that I have read several of her books, I wish I could meet her again and be her friend! I would love to travel to Scotland with her (which she does when researching for her books).

This is the 6th historical novel I have read by Liz. And this has become my favorite. It took me 5 days to read all 442 pages of it. Once I started reading, I did not want to put it down.

The character Marjory has lost her sons, her possessions, and her place in society (all things she loved more than The Lord); she and her widowed daughter-in-law are looking to start a new life and are trusting in The Lord to provide for their every need. This riveting story will help the reader see how God works in everything. Marjory says towards the end of the book, "You have dealt kindly with me after all, Lord. You have, You have! I came home empty, and you filled me to overflowing". I pray I will be filled to overflowing like Marjory!

"Our real blessings often appear to us in the shape of pains, losses, and disappointments; but let us have patience, and we soon shall see them in their proper figures." ~Joseph Addison

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Purex Crystals and a Giveaway!

Have you heard about these new Purex Crystals? It just so happens that I am a Purex Insider which means I get to try cool new products from Purex often before they hit the store shelves. Very exciting! So here is your opportunity to win the following...

*2 coupons for FREE 28 oz Purex Complete Crystals Softener. (value of $5.50 each!)*

How to enter:
1. click on the purex crystals link (you can also download a $1.oo off coupon here)
2. leave a comment saying you checked out the purex crystals website.
3. make sure you leave contact info.

Contest closes March 13th at midnight. Open to US residents. Thanks for checking Purex out!!

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

The Factor Tree

I am a BzzAgent and was recently introduced to the factor tree. If you have a child that struggles with math fundamentals, this is the perfect place to go! It is an amazing educational website that your child will enjoy.

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Gray Matter

I have been an operating room nurse since 1997. I have seen thousands of procedures preformed by hundreds of surgeons, but I have never witnessed a surgeon pray with a patient. Dr. Levy is a neurosurgeon in California who feels led by God to pray with his patients. This book contains multiple stories where Dr. Levy has taken the courage to step out of his own comfort zone to bring glory to the ultimate Healer. This decision resulted in a huge impact in the lives of the people he interacts with on a daily basis, including his patients and their families, technicians who work with him, and other physicians. As a healthcare professional, I loved hearing about his patients, even when the outcome was not ideal. Dr. Levy is a great example to Christian physicians and healthcare providers.

In the words of Dr. Levy, "with the particular set of skills he (God) gave me, he allows me the profound privilege of having a hand in physical healing-and sometimes... helping my patients find their way to emotional or spiritual health. It is a privilege that humbles me and for which I am grateful to God with every new patient I meet."

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Kathi Lipp...I want to meet her!!

Kathi Lipp is a busy conference and retreat speaker, currently speaking each year to thousands of women throughout the United States. She is the author of The Husband Project and The Marriage Project, serves as food writer for Nickelodeon, and has had articles published in several magazines, including Today’s Christian Woman and Discipleship Journal. Kathi and her husband, Roger, live in California and are the parents of four teenagers and young adults. For more information visit her website: www.kathilipp.com. Kathi is scheduled to speak at the 2011 MOPS convention in Nashville, Tennessee!

I have had the privilege of reading Kathi's book The Me project the last couple of weeks. This handy guide coaches women to do one simple thing toward achieving our goals each day for three weeks. A woman experiencing the exhilaration of a rediscovered life offers more as a wife, mother, friend, volunteer, career woman. If you have a goal you want to achieve, I highly recommend this book. If gives a step by step plan on how to accomplish any goal.
If you really want to kick start your goal and cannot wait for the book to arrive, check out this article.

This post is part of the KCWC BLOG TOUR. Leave a comment to be entered into a drawing for a Deluxe Starbucks Gift Basket!! (a $62 value)

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Boys and Adventure!

I picked this book to review because I have twin 5 year old boys. We love books with two main characters so they can each pick who they want to be in the story. And anything to do with camping adventures is always a big hit with our family. We are big outdoorspeople! In the book Dragon and Turtle look out for each other while they are on their adventure, much like my boys look out for each other. The text was a little wordy for five year olds (mom simplified while she was reading out loud to them). But all in all it is a great story for boys who love an adventure. And what boy doesn't love an adventure?!?!

Friday, February 18, 2011

who is my shelter?

This is book #4 in the Yada Yada House of Hope series. This story follows Gabby who has been thrown out of her home by her husband and the aftermath that has been created. Gabby is making a new life and seeking not only physical shelter, but also spiritual Shelter. The idea of God being our Shelter comes from Psalm 61..."Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For you have been my refuge....I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings". This is a reoccurring theme in Gabby's life which makes for a great storyline.

As a girl who tries to get ahead of God and make things happen, I can totally relate to the character of Gabby. Waiting for anything is hard and never easy. This book is a great reminder to "Let go and Let God" take care of me and my surroundings. He is my Rock and my Shelter!

*To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine

My Review of Flower Pot Women's Bib Style Apron

Originally submitted at CSN Stores

Serve up a plate of bold colors and sassy style with a twist of retro! This 1960's inspired print is blooming with pink, blue, green and orange flowers on a chocolate background. All of our products are proudly made in the USA with 100% premium cotton fabric. The bottom of the apro...

Great Apron

By Mom Three Ways from Greenfield, IN on 2/18/2011


5out of 5

I'm a tall girl (5' 11") and this apron still fits great. It's the perfect length and fit. I get compliments everytime I wear it!!


Sunday, February 6, 2011

Lazarus Awakening

I am not a big fan of buying books just to sit on a bookshelf; I am definitely more of a library kind of gal. But this book is one you will want to buy, keep close, and reread many times. I first became aware of Joanna Weaver when my aunt gave me a copy of Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World. I loved that book and tagged pages, highlighted, and underlined several passages. Joanna’s newest book Lazarus Awakening is just as good, maybe better! She takes the story of Lazarus, the one Jesus loves (John 11:3) and shows us how a relationship with Jesus is the most important thing. Just like Martha was taught, only one thing is needed .

I have to admit my favorite chapter in this book is chapter 4, When Love Tarries. Joanaa talks about her need to take control over situations when they aren’t going as planned. She wants to plot, plan, and scheme when things aren’t going so well. Yet in these times, if she listens closely, God is saying That wasn’t my plan. If you want to walk with Me, you have to SURRENDER your itinerary and TRUST Mine. This is when we must make the choice to choose the ”one thing” and not “our own thing”.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

COVERGIRL 50th Anniversary


Tuesday, February 1, 2011

The Shelter of God's Promises

Sheila Walsh is an amazing speaker and writer. I have had the privilege of hearing her speak at Women of Faith events in the past. I love her storytelling and her passion for Christ.
So when I got the opportunity to review her latest book, I was very excited! Her words are precious and just what I needed to hear. In this book, Sheila talks about the many things God has promised to those who are faithful to Him. One of the chapters contains this quote, "God doesn't want us to pretend our faith or give lip service to His promises". Each chapter contains several insights like this for those on the journey to Heaven. God is faithful and we are responsible for acting out our faith.
As an added bonus, this book also includes a Bible Study with scripture and questions to ponder for each chapter. This would be a great women's group study to consider!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

unPLANNED by Abby Johnson

In chapter 12 of this book, Abby says, "God is a great choreographer, isn't He? As I take a hard look now at that fateful day......I see how perfectly He had positioned me so that when my eyes were pried open by His fingers, I'd have the clearest possible view". This book is about Abby's eyes being opened to the reality of her occupation after spending years defending her life's work. Abby chose to walk away with dignity from her position at Planned Parenthood after He opened her eyes. She talks about how God is in the business of changing hearts and minds and opening eyes; He then uses these ordinary, everyday people to accomplish His extraordinary purpose! God used Abby's story to reach out to an untold amount of people who saw it on the news, read stories on the internet, and heard her radio interviews. I pray my eyes will be open to the calling of God just like Abby.

Sunday, January 16, 2011


My family has enjoyed all of Lisa Tawn Bergren's God Gave Us books. This is the 6th book in the series and it is another treasure to add to our family's library. The lessons we learned in this book are that God created the world and that there are lots of different creatures in the world. While we are all different, we learned how special we all are to God. What a great lesson to teach my five year old twins! It also teaches how important the earth is to its creator (God) and that we should enjoy taking care of it. This would make a great book to read on Earth Day (April 22nd) or any day to emphasize taking care of our planet.

This book was provided to me by the publisher. The views expressed are mine.

Thursday, January 6, 2011


Mike Flynt has an amazing story to tell. At the age of fifty-nine he played football for Sul Ross State University becoming the oldest contributing member to a football team in NCAA history! By all accounts, he is a successful man. This book encourages us to realize the goals and dreams we were created for. Each of the twelve chapters are designed to help you find your strengths and then show you how to use them. My favorite chapter is the one about the body. This being a new year, I am taking a closer look at my health and overall wellness. The statistics he shares about our overall health today are very mind-opening. He encourages a healthy lifestyle in order to live a longer life and have better relationships (two things I want in my life). I am excited to put into practice his strategies!

I received a copy of this book for free, from the publisher, Thomas Nelson. I am not required to give a positive review

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

THE PIRATE QUEEN by Patricia Hickman

From the outside looking in, Saphora Warren appears to have it all. Beautiful homes, three grown children, and a good looking husband who happens to be a plastic surgeon. Little do people know that Saphora wants to walk away from her life. She has it all planned out. She is packed and ready to go. She is over her husband and her home and her life. Then her husband drops the bombshell.....cancer. surgery. chemotherapy. radiation. a low survival rate. Saphora has a choice to make. Will she walk away as planned or support her husband through this?Saphora remembers what it was like to be in love, but is far removed from that feeling.

"Does anyone fall in love anymore, Mrs. Warren? I'd like to know."

"It's easy falling in love, Mario. It's staying in love that boggles the mind", said Saphora.

This book is an excellent reminder of love and the path it can take and where the path leads.